iRobot Roomba Combo Essential Vacuum and Mop Robot
Data last updated:
Our verdict
The Combo Essential is the budget entry point into iRobot's app-controlled Combo range, complete with Clean Map reporting, but it comes with a standard, non-emptying dock, so anyone who wants to skip manual bin emptying needs to look further up the range. iRobot's failure to publish suction power, bin capacity, noise level or even HEPA status for this model is a significant blind spot, making it a hard sell for buyers who want to compare it properly against rivals before spending money.
Specifications
| Type | Robot Vacuum |
|---|---|
| Power source | Cordless (Battery) |
| Weight | 2.8kg |
| Runtime | 120 min |
| Battery capacity | 2.6Ah |
| Warranty | 2 years |
| Colour | Black |
| Bagless | Yes |
| App-controlled | Yes |
| Self-emptying dock | No |
| 2-in-1 mop & vacuum | Yes |
| Wet & dry capable | Yes |
| Surface compatibility | carpet, hard-floor, multi-surface |
| Best for | small-apartments, multi-surface |
What is the iRobot Roomba Combo Essential?
The iRobot Roomba Combo Essential Vacuum and Mop Robot (model Y011040) is a 2-in-1 robot vacuum and mop from iRobot, built for small flats and homes with a mix of hard floors and carpet. It vacuums and mops in a single pass using a 4-stage cleaning system with an edge-sweeping side brush that pulls debris in from skirting boards and corners.
Price and availability in the UK
The Combo Essential is sold directly through iRobot.co.uk. At the time this data was checked, the listing showed as out of stock with a "Notify Me" waitlist rather than a discontinued product. iRobot also sells a related Roomba Combo 2 Essential (Y051042), which adds a self-emptying AutoEmpty dock that this base model does not include — worth checking if automatic bin emptying matters to you.
Key specifications
| Spec | Detail |
|---|---|
| Weight | 2.8 kg |
| Dimensions | 330 mm length x 80 mm height (width not published) |
| Battery | 2.6Ah Li-ion, up to 120 minutes runtime |
| Colour | Black |
| Warranty | 2-year limited warranty |
| Self-emptying dock | No — standard charging dock only |
| Suction power | No Pa/W figure published; iRobot describes 3 suction levels |
| HEPA filtration | Not specified by iRobot for this model |
| Dust bin capacity | Not published by iRobot for this model |
What's included and what it can do
The box includes a charging dock, a microfibre mopping pad, a line cord, and a hair-cutting tool for the main brush. The robot offers smart navigation with obstacle sensors, app control and Clean Map reporting through iRobot OS, voice assistant compatibility, three adjustable water levels for mopping, and a two-minute spot-clean mode for isolated messes. The mopping pad is washable and rated for up to 30 uses before it needs replacing.
What's missing or unconfirmed
Several figures that shoppers commonly compare aren't published by iRobot for this specific model: suction power in Pa or W, dust bin capacity, noise level in decibels, and whether the filter is HEPA-rated. None of these are confirmed as absent — iRobot simply hasn't listed them for this SKU — so treat them as unknown rather than as a fault against the product. The clearer practical limitation is that this is not a self-emptying model: you'll need to empty the bin by hand rather than have a dock do it automatically, which the Combo 2 Essential variant offers instead.
Who this robot suits
The Combo Essential is built for a small flat or single-level home with mixed hard floors and carpet, where manual bin emptying isn't a dealbreaker and a sub-£300 entry price matters more than a self-emptying dock. If automatic emptying is a priority, the Roomba Combo 2 Essential is the closest iRobot alternative. You can also browse other iRobot vacuum cleaners or other robot vacuums to compare specs side by side before deciding.
Does the iRobot Roomba Combo Essential have a self-emptying dock?
No. The Roomba Combo Essential (Y011040) comes with a standard charging dock, not a self-emptying AutoEmpty dock, so the dust bin needs to be emptied by hand. The Roomba Combo 2 Essential (Y051042) is the related iRobot model that adds automatic bin emptying, so it's worth comparing that model if hands-off maintenance matters more than a lower entry price. Skipping the self-emptying dock is one way this base model stays cheaper than the wider Combo range. iRobot also hasn't published dust bin capacity for this model, so how often manual emptying is needed can't be precisely estimated from the spec sheet alone.
How much does the iRobot Roomba Combo Essential cost in the UK?
The iRobot Roomba Combo Essential is sold direct from iRobot.co.uk. It was showing as out of stock (Notify Me) when this data was checked, so confirm current price and availability before buying. That price makes it the budget entry point into iRobot's app-controlled Combo range, backed by a 2-year limited warranty, though it uses a standard charging dock rather than a self-emptying one. If automatic bin emptying matters more than the lower price, the related Roomba Combo 2 Essential (Y051042) adds that feature at a higher cost. Given the current stock gap, it's also worth checking third-party retailers for availability while waiting on iRobot's own listing to return.
Does the Combo Essential have HEPA filtration?
iRobot has not specified HEPA filter status for the Combo Essential. It is not confirmed either way, so treat it as unknown rather than assume it is or isn't HEPA-rated. This sits alongside other unpublished figures for this model, including suction power in Pa or watts, dust bin capacity, and noise level in decibels, so several specs shoppers commonly compare simply aren't available for this exact SKU. If confirmed HEPA filtration for allergies is essential to your decision, it's worth checking the related Roomba Combo 2 Essential, which iRobot markets more explicitly around allergen pickup, or contacting iRobot directly for this model's filter specification before buying.
How long does the battery last on a single charge?
The Roomba Combo Essential runs for up to 120 minutes, powered by a 2.6Ah Li-ion battery, according to iRobot's published specification. That runtime needs to cover manual bin emptying too, since this model uses a standard charging dock rather than a self-emptying one, unlike the related Roomba Combo 2 Essential. At 2.8kg, the robot is light enough to move easily if you want to relocate it between floors, and the 120-minute figure is reasonable for the small flats and single-level homes this model is aimed at. iRobot hasn't published a separate charge time figure for this SKU, so plan for the robot to return to its dock and recharge automatically once the battery runs low.
Can the Combo Essential vacuum and mop at the same time?
Yes. The Roomba Combo Essential is a 2-in-1 vacuum and mop robot with three adjustable water levels for mopping and a washable mopping pad rated for up to 30 uses before it needs replacing. This combo function works alongside a 4-stage cleaning system and an edge-sweeping side brush that pulls debris in from skirting boards and corners, plus a two-minute spot-clean mode for isolated messes. Because the dock here is a standard charging dock rather than self-emptying, you'll handle bin emptying manually even though vacuuming and mopping happen automatically in the same pass. This combined function is a key part of the value versus a vacuum-only robot at a similar price.
Similar products
★ ratings are average shopper ratings from online retailer listings.



